Wednesday, August 26, 2009

The Malibu Invitational

Haven't had much time to update my blog this month because I am helping put together the 3rd annual Malibu Invitational. I will be taking a lot of photos of this event so stay tuned. Below is all the info and links the websites. I hope you all will come out and support this great cause.

Saturday Night we are also having the after party at Dukes.

Contributing Friends

Nixon, Billabong, Spy Optics, Sector 9, Girl Skateboards, Famous Wax, Hurley, Anthony Bevialcqua, Danny Fuller, Bill Parr, and The Los Angeles Lakers

Top Qualifying Jr/Groms (17under)

Colton Sarlo, Sebastian Mendez, Theo Lewitt, Skylar Lawson, Thelen Worrell, Dane McCrystal, Shane Borland, Duke Van Patten, Jake Kelly, Frankie Harrer, Riley Garrison, Chadler Parr, Chance Lawson, Tyler Morris, Mickey Clarke, Lyon Herron, Biggie Murray, Jimbo Borland, Andrew Jacobsen, and Connor Lundy.

Confirmed “Pro” Surfers

Dane Reynolds, Jon Rose, Ricky Whitlock, Brendan Hearne, Dan Fowler, Ian Zambora, Kelly Zaun, Dane Zaun, Evan Mendelhson, Anthony Petruso, Killian Garland, Strider Wasilewski, Quinn McCrystal, Chris Darrah, Dillon Perillo, Pascal Stansfield, Michael Schwimer, Keoni Cuccia, , Louis Tesoro, Conrad Carr, Josh Curran, Kalani Robb, Pete Mussio, Reef McIntosh, Frank Tesoro, Noah Erickson, Yves Bright, Colin Giles, Justin Swartz, Sean Johnson, Ted Navarro, Jordan Tappis, Kyle Knox, Dave Hopkins, Danny Estes, Tuffer Marsolek, Love Hodell, Reed Farrer, Tom Landouchie, John Amezcua, Chad Wells, Donald Day, Pat Towersey, Blair Marlin, Julian Wilson, Dennis Rizzo, Matt Shadbolt, Keegan Gibbs, Chad Eastman, and Tim Curran.

$85 Entry Payable to ValSurf and Sent To: 4810 Whitsett Ave., Valley Village, Ca., 91607. Attn: Tanna or $125 Beach Entry $3,000 purse.

Confirmed “Legends” Surfers

Allen Sarlo, Dale Rhodes, Lee Westfall, Dave White, Ricky Schaffer, Andy Lyon, Toby Lamm, Steve Dunn, Bill Parr, Steven Lippman, Danny Klein, Joey Jenkins, Jeff Higginbotham, Donnie Wilson, Mike Marcellino, Craig Kozlewski, Jay Riddle, Mark Richards, Mike Lamm, Scott Daly, Evan Caples, Ian Warner, Tom Daniels, Sebastian Franklin, Kirk Murray, David Carter, Glen Kennedy, Carlos Del Olmo, Tony Zapatta, Christian Anderson, Joe Everett, John Baker, Matt Rapf. Scott Anderson, John McClure, Mitch Taylor, Solo Scott, Bobby Keith, Tim Ryan, and Simon Snyder.

TheraSURF, Saturday at 11:40am

Jimmy Gamboa, Ryan Conder, Kalani Robb, and Skylar Peak


Saturday check-In 7am
Legends start 7:20am

Sunday check-In 6:20am
Legends start 7am


August 29th and 30th, 2009 (Malibu, CA) Pascal Stansfield and Patrick Jensen of Freedom Artists, Skylar Peak and John Hildebrand of Sicky Dicky Productions, Seumas Santoro of Podium Distribution, Jordan Tappis of Bros, Jason Rouse of Malibu Magazine, Steven Lippman of Steven Lippman Print + Film Inc., Josh Morgan of Duke's Malibu, Brian Rogers of Chateau Michelle, Everyone @ Primo Beer, and myself Brandon Richards along with Chris Duffy, Blake Richards, and Doug Anderson of Val Surf present "The 3rd Annual Malibu Invitational" to benefit young Point Dume Surfer Lyon Herron beat his fight with Gardner's Syndrome.

Lyon was first diagnosed with Gardner's Syndrome when he was 6 years young and has been fighting this disease for the past 13 years. Lyon is a Viking, has a heart of Gold, and is always smiling happy! He loves the ocean, he loves to surf and skate, and he truly loves his life. Lyon has shown me strength and inspiration, and more importantly reminded everyone whom he has touched to appreciate every minute of everyday. We love you Lyon! Please View The Lyon Heart Documentary to Learn More About Lyon and His Story


Malibu is the birthplace of modern day 'hotdog' or high performance surfing. It was great to see a short board event held at Malibu. The vibe was community, I was surfing with my good friends from the 'Val' , Point Dume , and The 'Bu' and we were all joined in unity for a common and wonderful cause to help support, motivate, and honor a young surfer. In this celebration of performance surfing we are all winners. My praise and Gods blessings goes out to Lyon in his speedy recovery."
--- 2007 "Malibu Legend" Champion, Allen Sarlo

Online Coverage from 2008

No comments:

Post a Comment